2018 Md. Delaware and DC Press Assoc. journalism awards

Congratulations to the journalists at the Carroll County Times for being recognized as winners of the annual Maryland Delaware and DC Press Association writing and journalism awards.

March 22, 2019

According to information found in the MDDC “Friday Planner” newsletter, which announced the 2018 contest winners on the MDDC website here: http://www.mddcpress.com/news/2018-mddc-contest-winners: “These winners represent the best work of member publications in Maryland, Delaware and DC. Publications are divided into seven categories based on circulation, plus a special division for SPJ members. Entries are judged, in most cases, by a sister press association…

“The judges were very impressed with the caliber of writing in the contest and the competition was stiff! We will post all of the winning entries on our website after the event.

“The press association will celebrate all of the winners at the Editorial Awards Program, May 10, 2019 from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. During that program, we will reveal the individual winners and their placements, the Best in Show category winners and News Media Organization of the Year. We will also recognize the James S. Keat FOI Award, the Michael S. Powell High School Journalist of the Year, Editorial Rookie of the Year, and our newest award, Courage in Journalism…”

This year the awards will be presented “at the Annual Conference, Local News Builds Communities, (on) Friday, May 10th at the Doubletree by Hilton in Annapolis…” This year’s keynote speaker is Major Garrett, CBS News’ chief Washington correspondent…”

The 2018 winners from Division C – Dailies under 20,000 – Carroll County Times: Carroll County Times Staff, Alex Mann, Catalina Righter, David Anderson, Wayne Carter, Dylan Slagle, Emily Chappell, Greg Nucifora, Heather Mongilio, Jay Judge, Jen Rynda, Jennifer Turiano, Jon Kelvey, Ken Koons, Megan Woodward, and Pat Stoetzer.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s